Pages

Sunday, 17 June 2012

Silk test Questions & Answers


Silk test Questions & Answers

1.    What is SilkTest?

SilkTest is a software testing automation tool developed by Segue Software, Inc.

2. What is the Segue Testing Methodology?

Segue testing methodology is a six-phase testing process:
1. Plan - Determine the testing strategy and define specific test requirements.
2. Capture - Classify the GUI objects in your application and build a framework for running your tests.
3. Create - Create automated, reusable tests. Use recording and/ or programming to build test scripts written in Segue's 4Test language.
4. Run - Select specific tests and execute them against the AUT.
5. Report - Analyze test results and generate defect reports.
6. Track - Track defects in the AUT and perform regression testing.
3. What is AUT?

AUT stands for Application Under Test.

4. What is SilkTest Host?

SilkTest Host is a SilkTest component that manages and executes test scripts. SilkTest Host usually runs on a separate machine different than the machine where AUT (Application Under Test) is running.

5. What is SilkTest Agent?

SilkTest Agent is a SilkTest component that receives testing commands from the SilkTest Host and interacts with AUT (Application Under Test) directly. SilkTest Agent usually runs on the same machine where AUT is running.

6. What is 4Test?

4Test is a test scripting language used by SilkTest to compose test scripts to perform automated tests. 4Test is an object-oriented fourth-generation language. It consists of 3 sets of functionalities:
1. A robust library of object-oriented classes and methods that specify how a testcase can interact with an application’s GUI objects.
2. A set of statements, operators and data types that you use to introduce structure and logic to a recorded testcase.
3. A library of built-in functions for performing common support tasks.


7.What is the DOM browser extension?

Document Object Model (DOM) browser extension is a SilkTest add-on component for testing Web applications. DOM browser extension communicates directly with the Web browser to recognize, categorize and manipulate objects on a Web page. It does this by working with the actual HTML code, rather than relying on the visual pattern recognition techniques currently employed by the Virtual Object (VO) extension.

8. What is the VO browser extension?

Virtual Object (VO) browser extension is a SilkTest add-on component for testing Web applications. VO browser extersion uses sophisticated pattern recognition techniques to identify browser-rendered objects. The VO extension sees Web pages as they appear visually; it does not read or recognize HTML tags in the Web application code. Instead, the VO extension sees the objects in a Web page; for example, links, tables, images and compound controls the way that you do, regardless of the technology behind them.

9. What is SilkTest project?

A SilkTest project is a collection of files that contains required information about a test project.

10. How to create a new SilkTest project?

1. Run SilkTest.
2. Select Basic Workflow bar.
3. Click Open Project on the Workflow bar.
4. Select New Project.
5. Double click Create Project icon in the New Project dialog box
6
. One the Create Project dialog box, enter your project name, and your project description.
7. Click OK.
8. SilkTest will create a new subdirectory under SilkTest project directory, and save all files related to the new project under that subdirectory.

11. How to open an existing SilkTest project?

1. Run SilkTest.
2. Select File menu.
3. Select Open Project.
4. Select the project.
5. Click OK.
6. SilkTest will open the selected project.

12. What is a SilkTest Testplan?

The SilkTest testplan is an outline that provides a framework for the software testing process and serves as the point of control for organizing and managing your test requirements. A testplan consists of two distinct parts: an outline, which is a formatted description of the test requirements, and statements, which are used to connect the testplan to SilkTest scripts and testcases that implement the test requirements.

13. Where is a testplan stored?

A SilkTest testplan is stored in a file with .pln file extension.

14. How to create and edit a testplan?

1. Make sure your project is open.
2. Click the Files tab in the Project Explorer.
3. Right-click the Plan folder.
4. Click New File.
5. An untitled testplan file opens in the SilkTest testplan editor.
6. Click File/Save menu to save the testplan.

15. What are the types of text lines in a testplan file?

A testplan file contains text lines. There are 5 types of text lines in a testplan file:
1. Comment - Marked in green color: Providing commentary information.
2. Group descriptiton - Marked in black color: Providing descriptions for groups of tests. Tests in a testplan can be grouped into multiple levels of groups.
3. Test description - Marked in blue color: Providing descriptions for individual test.
4. Testplan statement - Marked in dark red color: Providing relations to link scripts, testcases, test data, closed sub testplans or an include file to the testplan.
5. Open subplan file marker - Marked in magenda color: Providing relations to link sub testplans to be included in a master testplan.

16. How to create group and sub group descriptions in a testplan?

In a testplan, each text line starting from column 0 represents a top level group description. To create sub group description:
1. Move the cursor the next line below the top level group description.
2. Click Outline/Move Right.
3. The text line will be indented to the right to be come a sub group description.

17. What are testplan attributes?

Testplan attributes are user defined characteristics to be associated with test group descriptions and/or test descriptions. You search, identify, and/or report test cases based on values of the different attributes.

18. What are the default testplan attributes?
SilkTest offers you 3 predefined default attributes:
1. Category: The type of testcase or group of testcases. For example, you can use this attributes to categorize your test groups as "Boundary value tests", "Navagation tests", etc.
2. Component: The name of the application modules to be tested.
3. Developer: The name of the QA engineer assigned to develop the testcase or group of testcases.

19. How to define new testplan attributes?

1. Make sure your test project is open.
2. Click Testplan/Define Attributes menu. The Define Attributes dialog box shows up. You should see predefined default attributes: Category, Component, and Developer.
3. Click the New button. The New Attribute dialog box shows up.
4. Enter a name for your new attribute. For example: "Level" to indicate the complexity level of test cases.
5. Select an attribute type: Normal, Edit, or Set.
6. Click OK.

20. How to define values for a testplan attribute?

You must define values for a testplan before using it:
1. Make sure your test project is open.
2. Click Testplan/Define Attributes menu. The Define Attributes dialog box shows up. You should see predefined default attributes and other attributes defined by yourself.
3. Select an attribute. For example, "Component". The Values box should be empty.
4. Enter a value in Add box. For example, "Catalog".
5. Click Add. Value "Catalog" should be inserted into the Values box.
6. Repeat the last two steps to add more values.

20. Where are the testplan attributes stored?

Testplan attributes are stored in the testplan initialization file, testplan.ini, in SilkTest installation directory.

21. How to assign attribute values to test cases?

1. Make sure your testplan is open.
2. Click on the test case for which you want to assign an attribute value.
3. Click Testplan/Detail menu. The Testplan Details dialog box shows up.
4. Click the Test Attribute tab.
5. Click the Component field. The dropdown list shows up with all values of "Component".
6. Select one of the values in the dropdown list.
7. Click OK.
22. What is a test frame?
A test frame is a file that contains information about the application you are testing. Information stored in a test frame will be used as references when SilkTest records and executes testcases. A test frame is stored in an include file with file extension .inc.

23. How to create a test frame?

1. Make sure your Web browser is active and showing your Web application home page. Do not minimize this Web page window.
2. Make sure your test project is open.
3. Click File/New menu. The New dialog box shows up.
4. Select the Test Frame radio button.
5. Click OK. The New Test Frame dialog box shows up with a list all active Web applications.
6. Select your Web application.
7. Enter a test frame name. For example: HomeFrame.inc.
8. Review the window name. It should be the HTML title your Web application. You can rename it, if needed.
9. Click OK to close the New Test Frame dialog box.
10. Click File/Save menu.

24. What is stored in a test frame?

A test frame is a text file, which records the following types of information for a Web application:
1. Comment: Commentary information.
2. wMainWindow: A string constant to identify your application's home page.
3. Home page window: An object of class BrowserChild window that holds application home page.
4. sLocation: The URL of the your application's home apge.
5. sUserName and dPassword: User name and password if needed to login to your Web application.
6. BrowserSize: A pair of values to indicate the size of the browser window.
7. Home page objects: A list of all objects on the home page, such as HtmlImage, HtmlText, HtmlLinks, etc.

25. How DOM browser extension identify a Web application UI object?

A Web application UI object is identified in two parts:
1. Identify the Web browser window where the Web application is running. For example, a Web browser window can be identified as"Browser.BrowserChild("Yahoo Home Page")".
Another Web browser window can be identified as"Browser.BrowserChild("Google Home Page")".
2. Identify the Web UI object based on the HTML element that represents the UI object.
For example, an image in a Web page can be identified as "HtmlImage("Yahoo Logo")";
A hyperlink in a Web page can be identified as "HtmlLink("Site Map")"; The full identification of a Web applicatin UI object is the concatenation of the browser window identification and the HTML element identification. For example, the Yahoo logo image is identified as:
Browser.BrowserChild("Yahoo Home Page").HtmlImage("Yahoo Logo"). The site map link is identified as: Browser.BrowserChild("Google Home Page").HtmlLink("Site Map").

26. What is the syntax of UI object identifier used by DOM extension?

The DOM browser extension uses the following syntax for Web UI objects:
Browser.BrowserChild("page_title").html_class("object_tag")
1. "page_title" is the title of the Web page, defined by the HTML "TITLE" tag.
2. "object_tag" is the label of the HTML element. How a HTML
element is labeled depending on the type of HTML element.

27. What is multi-tagging?
Multi-tagging is a technique used by the DOM browser extension to identify a Web page UI object. Whenever possible, DOM extension inserts more than one tag into the object identifier in following format:
Browser.BrowserChild("page_title").html_class("caption_tag|#index_tag|window_tag")
1. "caption_tag" is the caption of the HTML element.
2. "#index_tag" is the index of this HTML element, counting from the beginning of this page of the same class of HTML elements.
3. "window_tag" is the window identifier.

28. How to add objects of other pages to a test frame?

If your Web application has pages other than the home page, you should also record their page objects into the test frame:
1. Make sure your Web browser is active and showing another page of your Web application.
2. Make sure SilkTest is running.
3. Click File/Open menu.
4. Select your test frame file. For example: HomeFrame.inc.
5. Click OK to open the test frame.
6. Click Record/Window Declarations menu. The Record Window Declarations dialog box shows up. 7. Click your Web application window. Web page objects are recorded in the Record Window Declarations dialog box.
8. Press Ctrl+Alt to pause the recording.
9. Click "Paste to Editor" button. All recorded objects will be inserted into the test frame.
10. Repeat this for other Web pages, if needed.
29. How to specify a browser extension to a Web application?

1. Run SilkTest.
2. Open Internet Explorer (IE).
3. Enter the URL of the Web application.
4. Leave the IE window with the Web application. Don't minimize the IE window.
5. To back to SilkTest window.
6. Select Basic Workflow bar.
7. Click Enable Externsions on the Workflow bar.
8. The Enable Extensions dialog will show up. Your Web application running in the IE window will listed in the dialog box.
9. Select your Web application and click Select.
10. The Extension Settings dialog will show up. Click OK to enable the DOM browser extension.

30. What is DefaultBaseState?

The DefaultBaseState is a starting point of test project from which the Recovery System can automatically restart your test cases when test cases fail to continue.

How to test your DefaultBaseState?

1. Close your Web application and other Web browsers.
2. Make sure your test frame is open.
3. Click Run/Application State menu. The Run Application State dialog box shows up with a list of states. One of them should be DefaultBaseState.
4. Select DefaultBaseState.
5. Click Run button. The Runtime Status dialog box shows up. And the Results File dialog box shows up too.
6. You should see no error message in the results file.

31. What are the important aspects of a test case?

1. Each test case must be independent of other test cases.
2. Each test case have a single test purpose.
3. Each test case should start from a base state and returning to the same base state.


32. What is the standard flow of execution of a test case?

1. Starting from the base state.
2. Drive the application to the state where the expected result should occur.
3. Verify the actual result against the expected result.
4. Declare the test case as passed or failed.
5. Return to the base state.

33. How to record a test case?

1. Run SilkTest.
2. Click Option/Runtime menu. The Runtime Options dialog box shows up.
3. Edit the Use Files field to include your test frame file and the exlorer.inc file. For example: ...\HomeFrame.inc,extend\explorer.inc.
4. Make sure IE 5.x DOM is selceted.
5. Click OK to cloase the Runtime Optoins dialog box.
6. Open your test project.
7. Click Record/Testcase menu. The Record Testcase dialog box shows up.
8. Name your test case. For example: LoginTest.
9. Select DefaultBaseState in the Applicatin State dropdown list.
10. Click Start Recording button.The Record Testcase dialog closes. Your Web application is will be automatically started by SilkTest, based on the information in test frame file. SilkTest Editor window closes. The Record Status dialog box shows up.
11. Continue to use your Web application. SilkTest records everything you did on your application.
12. Click the "Done" button on the Recording Status dialog box to stop recording. The Recording Status dialog box closes. The Record Testcase dialog box shows up again.
13. Click Paste to Editor. SilkTest will insert the recorded acitivities as 4Test statements into a script file. The Record Testcase dialog closes.
14. Click File/Save menu to save the script file. You can enter a script file name. For example, LoginTest.t.

34. How to include a test case into a testplan?

1. Make sure your testplan is open.
2. Enter a test description into your testplan. For example, "Test login process".
3. Select this test description.
4. Click Testplan/Detail menu. The Testplan Detail dialog box shows up.
5. Click the Test Execution tag on the Testplan Detail dialog box.
6. Click the "Scripts" button to browse and select a test case script file. For example, LoginTest.t.
7. Click the "Testcases" button, to select a testcase recored in the specified script file.
8. Click OK to close the Testplan Detail dialog box.

35. How record a test case into a testplan automatically?

Test cases can recorded first without a testplan, then included into a testplan later. Test cases can also be recorded into a testplan directly:
1. Make sure your testplan is open.
2. Enter a test descripption into your testplan. For example, "Test change password".
3. Select this test description.
4. Click Record/Testcase menu.
5. Enter a name for the script file.
6. Click Open. The Record Testcase dialog box shows up.
7. Enter a testcase name in the Testcase Name field.
8. Select DefaultBaseState in the Applicatin State dropdown list.
9. Click Start Recording button.The Record Testcase dialog closes. Your Web application is will be automatically started by SilkTest, based on the information in test frame file. SilkTest Editor window closes. The Record Status dialog box shows up.
10. Continue to use your Web application. SilkTest records everything you did on your application.
11. Click the "Done" button on the Recording Status dialog box to stop recording. The Recording Status dialog box closes. The Record Testcase dialog box shows up again.
12. Click Paste to Editor. SilkTest will insert the recorded acitivities as 4Test statements into a script file. The Record Testcase dialog closes.
13. Click File/Save menu to save the script file. You can enter a script file name. For example, ChangePasswordTest.t.

36. How to define an object verification in a test case?

While recording a test case, you can define verification points to verify UI objects:
1. Make sure you are in the process of recording a testcase.
2. Make sure the Record Status dialog box is on the screen.
3. Make sure your recording reached the Web page that has the UI object you want to verify.
4. Click the background (blank area) of the Web page. Do not click any objects on the page.
5. Press Ctrl-Alt. The Verify Window dialog box shows up. All the objects on the current Web page are listed on the Verify Window dialog box.
6. Select the object to be verified in the object list. Un-select all other objets.
7. Select the property to be verified in the property list. Un-select all other properties.
8. Click OK to close the Verify Window dialog box.
9. Continue your recording.
37. How to run a test case from a test script file?

A test script file can store multiple test cases. You can run a testcase from a test script file:
1. Open the test script file.
2. Select the test case in the test file.
3. Click Run/Testcase menu. The Run Testcase dialog box shows up.
4. Click the Run button. SilkTest starts to run the test case.
5. Do not touch mouse or keyboard, to avoid interrupting the test case execution.
6. SilkTest finishes executing the testcase. The Restuls window shows up with the execution result.
7. Review the execution result.
38. How to run a test case from a testplan file?
If a testcase is linked to a testplan, you can run it from the testplan:
1. Open the testplan.
2. Select the test description line which has the testcase linked.
3. Click Run/Testcase menu. The Run Testcase dialog box shows up.
4. Click the Run button. SilkTest starts to run the test case.
5. Do not touch mouse or keyboard, to avoid interrupting the test case execution.
6. SilkTest finishes executing the testcase. The Restuls window shows up with the execution result.
7. Review the execution result.

39. How to run all test cases in a testplan? 1. Open the testplan.
2. Click Run/Run All Tests menu. SilkTest starts to run all the test cases in the testplan.
3. Do not touch mouse or keyboard, to avoid interrupting the test case execution.
4. SilkTest finishes executing the testcase. The Restuls window shows up with the execution result.
5. Review the execution result.

40. How to select a group of test cases in a testplan to run?

Usually, a testplan contains a big number of test cases. For some reason, you don't want to run all test cases in the testplan. You want to select a group of test cases and run them:
1. Open the testplan.
2. Select the test description line (linked to the testcase) to mark.
3. Click Testplan/Mark menu. The selected test description line is marked.
4. Repeat this process to select more linked testcases.
5. Click the Run/Run Marked Tests menu. SilkTest runs all the marked testcases.
6. Do not touch mouse or keyboard, to avoid interrupting the test case execution.
7. SilkTest finishes executing the testcase. The Restuls window shows up with the execution result.
8. Review the execution result.


Rational Robot Questions & Answers


What Is Rational Robot?
Rational Robot is a complete set of components for automating the testing of Microsoft Windows client/server and Internet applications.
The main component of Robot lets you start recording tests in as few as two mouse clicks. After recording, Robot plays back the tests in a fraction of the time it would take to repeat the actions manually.

Which products does Rational Robot Installs with?
ClearQuest - Change-Request management tool that tracks and manages defects and change requests through the development process.
Rational LogViewer and Comparators- are the tools you use to view logs and test results created when you playback scripts.
Rational Robot - is the tool that you used to develop both GUI and VU (virtual user) scripts.
SQL Anywhere - A database product to help create, maintain and run your Rational repositories.
Rational Test Manager - is the component that you use to plan your tests, manage your test asses, and run queries and reports.
Rational Administrator - is the component that you use to create and manage repositories.
Rational SiteCheck - is the component that you use to test the structural integrity of your intranet or www site.
Additional Rational Products available only with Rational Suite TestStudio or PerformanceStudio:
Test Factory - Component based testing tool that automatically generates TestFactory scripts according to the applications navigational structure.
Diagnostic Tools
Rational Purify - is a comprehensive C/C++ run time error checking tool.
Rational Visual Quantify - is an performance profiler that provides performance analysis of a product, to aid in improving performance of the code.
Rational Visual PureCoverage - is a customizable code coverage analysis tool that provides detailed application analysis and ensure that all code has been exercised.
Performance Studio - Tool used for automating performance tests on client/server systems.
Rational Synchronizer - Tool used to share data from rational rose, requisite pro and rational robot.
RequisitePro - Create, define requirements for your development process. The baseline version is incorporated into Rational Team Test. The full version in Rational Studio TestSuite allows you to customize requirements databases, and additional features like tracability, change notification and attribute management.

What is Rational Administrator?
Use the Rational Administrator to:
  • create and manage projects.
  • Create a project under configuration management.
  • Create a project outside of configuration management.
  • Connect to a project.
  • See projects that are not on your machine (register a project).
  • Delete a project.
  • Create and manage users and groups for a Rational Test datastore.
  • Create and manage projects containing Rational RequisitePro projects and Rational Rose models.
  • Manage security privileges for the entire Rational project.
  • Configure a SQL Anywhere database server.
What two kind of GUI scripts using Rational Robot?
1. functional testing
2. sessions for performance testing.

  • Perform full functional testing. Record and play back scripts that navigate through your application and test the state of objects through verification points.
  • Perform full performance testing. Use Robot and TestManager together to record and play back sessions that help you determine whether a multi-client system is performing within user-defined standards under varying loads.
  • Create and edit scripts using the SQABasic and VU scripting environments. The Robot editor provides color-coded commands with keyword Help for powerful integrated programming during script development. (VU scripting is used with sessions in performance testing.)
  • Test applications developed with IDEs such as Java, HTML, Visual Basic, Oracle Forms, Delphi, and PowerBuilder. You can test objects even if they are not visible in the application’s interface.
Collect diagnostic information about an application during script playback. Robot is integrated with Rational Purify, Rational Quantify, and Rational PureCoverage. You can play back scripts under a diagnostic tool and see the results in the log
. What is datapool?
A datapool is a source of variable test data that scripts can draw from during playback.

How to create a datapool?
When creating a datapool, you specify the kinds of data (called data types) that the script will send for example, customer names, addresses, and unique order numbers or product names. When you finish defining the datapool, TestManager automatically generates the number of rows of data that you specify.
How to analyz results in the log and comparators
You use TestManager to view the logs that are created when you run scripts and schedules.
Use the log to:
--View the results of running a script, including verification point failures, procedural failures, aborts, and any additional playback information. Reviewing the results in the log reveals whether each script and verification point passed or failed.
Use the Comparators to:
--Analyze the results of verification points to determine why a script may have failed. Robot includes four Comparators:
.Object Properties Comparator
.Text Comparator
.Grid Comparator
.Image C omparator

Rational SiteCheck
Rational SiteCheck to test the structural integrity of your intranet or World Wide Web site. SiteCheck is designed to help you view, track, and maintain your rapidly changing site. Use SiteCheck to:
  • Visualize the structure of your Web site and display the relationship between each page and the rest of the site.
  • Identify and analyze Web pages with active content, such as forms, Java, JavaScript, ActiveX, and Visual Basic Script (VBScript).
  • Filter information so that you can inspect specific file types and defects, including broken links.
  • Examine and edit the source code for any Web page, with color-coded text.
  • Update and repair files using the integrated editor, or configure your favorite HTML editor to perform modifications to HTML files.
  • Perform comprehensive testing of secure Web sites. SiteCheck provides Secure Socket Layer (SSL) support, proxy server configuration, and support for multiple password realms.
What is A verification point?
A verification point is a point in a script that you create to confirm the state of an object across builds of the application-under-test.
Verification point type
1. Alphanumeric:
Captures and tests alphanumeric data in Windows objects that contain text, such as edit boxes, check boxes, group boxes, labels, push buttons, radio buttons, toolbars, and windows (captions).
2. Clipboard:
Captures and compares alphanumeric data that has been copied to the Clipboard.
3. File Comparison:
Compares two specified files during playback.
4. File Existence:
Verifies the existence of a specified file during playback.
5. Menu:
Captures and compares the menu title, menu items, shortcut keys, and the state of selected menus.
6. Module Existence:
Verifies whether a specified module is loaded into a specified context (process), or is loaded anywhere in memory.
7. Object Data
Captures and compares the data inside standard Windows objects.
8. Object Properties
Captures and compares the properties of standard Windows objects.
9. Region Image
Captures a region of the screen as a bitmap.
10. Web Site Compare
Captures a baseline of a Web site and compares it to the Web site at another point in time.
11. Web Site Scan
Checks the contents of a Web site with every revision and ensures that changes have not resulted in defects.
12. Window Existence:
Verifies the existence and status of a specified window during playback.
13. Window Image:
Captures a window as a bitmap.

How to create a verification point?
  1. Do one of the following:
    . If recording, click the Display GUI Insert Toolbar button on the GUI Record toolbar.
    . If editing, position the pointer in the script and click the Display GUI Insert Toolbar button on the Standard toolbar.
  2. Click a verification point button on the GUI Insert toolbar.
  3. In the Verification Point Name dialog box, edit the name as appropriate. The name can be a maximum of 20 characters.
  4. Optionally, set the Wait state options. For information, see the next section, Setting a Wait State for a Verification Point.
  5. Optionally, set the Expected result option.
  6. Click OK.
How to add a wait state when creating a verification point?
  1. Start to create the verification point.
  2. In the Verification Point Name dialog box, select Apply wait state to verification point.
  3. Type values for the following options: Retry every - How often Robot retries the verification point during playback. Robot retries until the verification point passes or until the timeout limit is reached.
    Timeout after - The maximum amount of time that Robot waits for the verification point to pass before it times out. If the timeout limit is reached and the verification point has not passed, Robot enters a failure in the log. The script playback either continues or stops based on the setting in the Error Recovery tab of the GUI Playback Options dialog box.
How to set the expected result when creating a verification point?
1. Start to create a verification point.
2. In the Verification Point Name dialog box, click Pass or Fail.

What are two verification points for use with Web sites
1. Use the Web Site Scan verification point to check the content of your Web site with every revision and ensure that changes have not resulted in defects.
2. Use the Web Site Compare verification point to capture a baseline of your Web site and compare it to the Web site at another point in time.

How to select the object to test?
  1. Start creating the verification point.
  2. In the Verification Point Name dialog box, type a name and cl ick OK to open the Select Object dialog box.
  3. Do one of the following:
    . Select Automatically close dialog box after object selection to have the Select Object dialog box close after you select the object to test.
    .Clear Automatically close dialog box after object selection to have the Select Object dialog box reappear after you select the object to test. You will need to click OK to close the dialog box. To select a visible object directly from the application, continue with step 4. To select an object from a list of all objects on the desktop, skip to step 5.
  4. To select a visible object directly from the application, drag the Object Finder tool over the object and release the mouse button.
  5. To select a visible or hidden object from a list of all objects on the Windows desktop, click Browse to open the Object List dialog box. Select the object from the list and click OK.
What's verification method?
The verification method specifies how Robot compares the baseline data captured while recording with the data captured during playback.
Eight verification methods
  1. Case-Sensitive - Verifies that the text captured during recording exactly matches the captured text during playback.
  2. Case-Insensitive - Verifies that the text captured during recording matches the captured text during playback in content but not necessarily in case.
  3. Find Sub String Case-Sensitive - Verifies that the text captured during recording exactly matches a subset of the captured text during playback.
  4. Find Sub String Case-Insensitive - Verifies that the text captured during recording matches a subset of the captured text during playback in content but not necessarily in case.
  5. umeric Equivalence - Verifies that the values of the data captured during recording exactly match the values captured during playback.
  6. Numeric Range - Verifies that the values of the data captured during recording fall within a specified range during playback. You specify the From and To values for the numeric range. During playback, the verification point verifies that the numbers are within that range.
  7. User-Defined and Apply a User-Defined DLL test function - Passes text to a function within a dynamic-link library (DLL) so that you can run your own custom tests. You specify the path for the directory and name of the custom DLL and the function. The verification point passes or fails based on the result that it receives back from the DLL function.
  8. Verify that selected field is blank - Verifies that the selected field contains no text or numeric data. If the field is blank, the verification point passes.
What's an identification method?
An identification method tells Robot how to identify the values to compare during record and playback.
There are four identification methods
  1. By Content - to verify that the recorded values exist during playback.
  2. By Location - to verify that the recorded values exist in the same locations during playback.
  3. By Title - to verify that the recorded values remain with their titles (names of menus or columns) during playback, even though the columns may have changed locations.
  4. By Key/Value - to verify that the recorded values in a row remain the same during playback.
How to rename a verification point and its associated files?
  1. Right-click the verification point name in the Asset (left) pane and click Rename.
  2. Type the new name and press ENTER.
  3. Click the top of the script in the Script (right) pane.
  4. Click Edit > Replace.
  5. Type the old name in the Find what box. Type the new name in the Replace with box.
  6. Click Replace All.
How to copy a verification point?
  1. Right-click the verification point in the Asset (left) pane and click Copy.
  2. In the same script or in a different script (in the same project), right-click Verification Points in the Asset pane.
  3. Click Paste to paste a copy of the verification point and its associated files into the project. If a verification point with that name already exists, Robot appends a unique number to the name. You can also copy and paste by dragging the verification point to Verification Points in the Asset pane.
  4. Click the top of the Script (right) pane of the original script.
  5. Click Edit > Find and locate the line with the verification point name that you just copied.
  6. Select the entire line, which starts with Result=.
  7. Click Edit > Copy.
  8. Return to the script that you used in step 2. Click the location in the script where you want to paste the line. Click Edit > Paste.
  9. Change the name of the verification point to match the name in the Asset pane.
How to delete a verification point and its associated files?
  1. Right-click the verification point name in the Asset (left) pane and click Delete.
  2. Click the top of the script in the Script (right) pane.
  3. Click Edit > Find.
  4. Type the name of the deleted verification point in the Find what box.
  5. Click Find Next.
  6. Delete the entire line, which starts with Result=.
  7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 until you have deleted all references.
What's TestManager
Rational TestManager is the one place to manage all testing activities--planning, design, implementation, execution, and analysis. TestManager ties testing with the rest of the development effort, joining your testing assets and tools to provide a single point from which to understand the exact state of your project.
Test Manager supports five testing activities:
1. Plan Test.
2. Design Test.
3. Implement Test.
4. Execute Tests.
5. Evaluate Tests.

Test plan
Test Manager is used to define test requirements, define test scripts and link these requirements and scripts to your test plans (written in word).

Test plan - A test plan defines a testing project so it can be properly measured and controlled. The test plan usually describes the features and functions you are going to test and how you are going to test them. Test plans also discuss resource requirement and project schedules.

Test Requirements
Test requirements are defined in the Requirement Hierarchy in TestManager. The requirements hierarchy is a graphical outline of requirements and nested child requirements.
Requirements are stored in the requisite pro database. Requisite Pro is a tool that helps project teams control the development process by managing and tracking the changes of requirements.

TestManager includes a baseline version of Requisite Pro. The full version with more features and customizations is available in the Rational Suite TestStudio.

TestManager's wizard
TestManager has a wizard that you can use to copy or import test scripts and other test assets (Datapools) from one project to another.
How TestManager manage test logs ?
When a robot scripts runs the output creates a test log. Test logs are managed now is the TestManager application. Rational now allows you to organize your logs into any type of format you need.

You can create a directory structures that suites your need Create build names for each build version (or development) Create folders in which to put the build in.

What's TestFactory
Rational TestFactory is a component-based testing tool that automatically generates TestFactory scripts according to the application’s navigational structure. TestFactory is integrated with Robot and its components to provide a full array of tools for team testing under Windows NT 4.0, Windows 2000, Windows 98, and Windows 95.
With TestFactory, you can:
--Automatically create and maintain a detailed map of the application-under-test.
--Automatically generate both scripts that provide extensive product coverage and scripts that encounter defects, without recording.
--Track executed and unexecuted source code, and report its detailed findings.
--Shorten the product testing cycle by minimizing the time invested in writing navigation code.
--Play back Robot scripts in TestFactory to see extended code coverage information and to create regression suites; play back TestFactory scripts in Robot to debug them.

What's ClearQuest
Rational ClearQuest is a change-request management tool that tracks and manages defects and change requests throughout the development process. With ClearQuest, you can manage every type of change activity associated with software development, including enhancement requests, defect reports, and documentation modifications.
With Robot and ClearQuest, you can:
-- Submit defects directly from the TestManager log or SiteCheck.
-- Modify and track defects and change requests.
-- Analyze project progress by running queries, charts, and reports.

Rational diagnostic tools
Use the Rational diagnostic tools to perform runtime error checking, profile application performance, and analyze code coverage during playback of a Robot script.
  • Rational Purify is a comprehensive C/C++ run-time error checking tool that automatically pinpoints run-time errors and memory leaks in all components of an application, including third-party libraries, ensuring that code is reliable.
  • Rational Quantify is an advanced performance profiler that provides application performance analysis, enabling developers to quickly find, prioritize and eliminate performance bottlenecks within an application.
  • Rational PureCoverage is a customizable code coverage analysis tool that provides detailed application analysis and ensures that all code has been exercised, preventing untested code from reaching the end-user.
TestManager can be used for Performance Testing
Rational Testmanager is a sophisticated tool that can be used for automating performance tests on client/server systems. A client/server system includes client applications accessing a database or application server, and browsers accessing a Web server.
Performance testing uses Rational Robot and Rational TestManager. Use Robot to record client/server conversations and store them in scripts. Use TestManager to schedule and play back the scripts. During playback, TestManager can emulate hundreds, even thousands, of users placing heavy loads and stress on your database and Web servers.

What's RequisitePro
Rational RequisitePro is a requirements management tool that helps project teams control the development process. RequisitePro organizes your requirements by linking Microsoft Word to a requirements repository and providing traceability and change management throughout the project lifecycle.
How to set GUI recording option
To set the GUI recording options:
1. Open the GUI Record Options dialog box by doing one of the following: . Before you start recording, click Tools > GUI Record Options. . Start recording by clicking the Record GUI Script button on the toolbar. In the Record GUI dialog box, click Options.
2. Set the options on each tab.
3. Click OK.

How to Control Robot Responds to Unknown Objects?
1. Open the GUI Record Options dialog box.
2. In the General tab, do one of the following:
-- Select Define unknown objects as type Generic to have Robot automatically associate unknown objects encountered while recording with the Generic object type.
-- Clear Define unknown objects as type Generic to have Robot suspend recording and open the Define Object dialog box if it encounters an unknown object during recording. Use this dialog box to associate the object with an object type.
3. Click OK or change other options.

How to change the object order preference?
1. Open the GUI Record Options dialog box.
2. Click the Object Recognition Order tab.
3. Select a preference in the Object order preference list.
4. Click OK or change other options.

How to create a new object order preference?
1. In an ASCII editor, create an empty text file with the extension .ord.
2. Save the file in the Dat folder of the project.
3. Click To o l s > G UI R e c o r d O p t i o n s .
4. Click the Object Recognition Order tab.
5. From the Object order preferences list, select the name of the file you created.
6. Change the method order to customize your preferences.

How to defining an Object Class Mapping?
1. Identify the class name of the window that corresponds to the object. You can use the Spy++ utility in Visual C++ to identify the class name. You can also use the Robot Inspector tool by clicking Tools > Inspector.
2. In Robot, click Tools > General Options, and then click the Object Mapping tab.
3. From the Object type list, select the standard object type to be associated with the new object class name.
Robot displays the class names already available for that object type in the Object classes list box.
4. Click Add.
5. Type the class name you identified in step 1 and click OK.
6. Click OK.

Modifying or Deleting a Custom Class Name
1. Click Tools > General Options, and then click the Object Mapping tab.
2. From the Object type list, select the standard object type that is associated with the object class name.
Robot displays the class names already available for that object type in the Object classes list.
3. From the Object classes list, select the name to modify or delete.
4. Do one of the following:
- To modify the class name, click Modify. Change the name and click OK.
- To delete the object class mapping, click Delete. Click OK at the
confirmation prompt.
5. Click OK.


How to to record a GUI script
  1. Prepare to record the script.
  2. If necessary, enable your application for testing.
  3. Make sure your recording options are set appropriately for the recording session.
  4. Click the Record GUI Script button on the toolbar to open the Record GUI dialog box.
  5. Type a name (40 characters maximum) or select a script from the list. The listed scripts have already been recorded in Robot, or generated in TestFactory. To change the list, select a query from the Query list. The query lets you narrow down the displayed list, which is useful in projects with hundreds of scripts. You create queries in TestManager, and you modify queries in TestManager or Robot.
    If a prefix has been defined for script autonaming, Robot displays the prefix in the Name box. To edit this name, either type in the Name box, or click Options, change the prefix in the Prefix box, and click OK.
  6. To change the recording options, click Options. When finished, click OK.
  7. If you selected a previously recorded script, you can change the properties by clicking Properties. When finished, click OK. To change the properties of a new script, record the script first. After recording, click File > Properties.
  8. Click OK to start recording. The following events occur: . If you selected a script that has already been recorded, Robot asks if you want to overwrite it. Click Yes. (If you record over a previously-recorded script, you overwrite the script file but any existing properties are applied to the new script.)
    . Robot is minimized by default.
    . The floating GUI Record toolbar appears. You can use this toolbar to pause or stop recording, display Robot, and insert features into a script.
  9. Start the application-under-test as follows: a. Click the Display GUI Insert Toolbar button on the GUI Record toolbar.
    b. Click the appropriate Start button on the GUI Insert toolbar.
    c. Fill in the dialog box and click OK.
  10. Perform actions as needed to navigate through the application.
  11. Insert features as needed. You can insert features such as verification points, comments, and timers.
  12. If necessary, switch from Object-Oriented Recording to low-level recording. Object-Oriented Recording examines Windows GUI objects and other objects in the application-under-test without depending on precise timing or screen coordinates. Low-level recording tracks detailed mouse movements and keyboard actions by screen coordinates and exact timing.
  13. When finished, click the Stop Recording button on the GUI Record toolbar. The Robot main window appears as follows:
    - The script that you recorded appears in a Script window within the Robot main window.
    - The verification points and low-level scripts in the script (if any) appear in the Asset pane on the left.
    - The text of the script appears in the Script pane on the right.
  14. Optionally, change the script properties by clicking File > Properties.
Restoring the Robot Main Window During Recording
When Robot is minimized or is hidden behind other windows during recording, you can bring it to the foreground in any of the following ways:
. Click the Open Robot Window button on the GUI Record toolbar.
. Click the Robot button on the Windows taskbar.
. Use the hot key combination CTRL+SHIFT+F to display the window and CTRL+SHIFT+H to hide the window.

Setting GUI Recording Options
1. Open the GUI Record Options dialog box by doing one of the following:
--Before you start recording, click Tools > GUI Record Options.
-- Start recording by clicking the Record GUI Script button on the toolbar.
In the Record GUI dialog box, click Options.
2. Set the options on each tab.
3. Click OK.

Naming Scripts Automatically
1. Open the GUI Record Options dialog box.
2. In the General tab, type a prefix in the Prefix box.
Clear the box if you do not want a prefix. If the box is cleared, you will need to type a name each time you record a new script.
3. Click OK or change other options.
The next time you record a new script, the prefix and a number appear in the Name box of the Record GUI dialog box.
In the following figure, the autonaming prefix is Test. When you record a new script, Test7 appears in the Name box because there are six other scripts that begin with Test.

How to change the object order preference?
  1. Open the GUI Record Options dialog box.
  2. Click the Object Recognition Order tab.
  3. Select a preference in the Object order preference list.
  4. Click OK or change other options.
How to change the order of the object recognition methods for an object type?
  1. Open the GUI Record Options dialog box.
  2. Click the Object Recognition Order tab.
  3. Select a preference in the Object order preference list. If you will be testing C++ applications, change the object order preference to C++ Recognition Order.
  4. From the Object type list, select the object type to modify. The fixed set of recognition methods for the selected object type appears in the Recognition method order list in its last saved order.
  5. Select an object recognition method in the list, and then click Move Up or Move Down. Changes made to the recognition method order take place immediately, and cannot be undone by the Cancel button. To restore the original default order, click Default.
  6. Click OK.
Important Notes:
. Changes to the recognition method order affect scripts that are recorded after the change. They do not affect the playback of scripts that have already been recorded.
. Changes to the recognition method order are stored in the project. For example, if you change the order for the CheckBox object, the new order is stored in the project and affects all users of that project.
. Changes to the order for an object affect only the currently-selected preference. For example, if you change the order for the CheckBox object in the preference, the order is not changed in the C++ preference.

How to create a new object order preference?
  1. In an ASCII editor, create an empty text file with the extension .ord.
  2. Save the file in the Dat folder of the project.
  3. Click To o l s > G UI R e c o r d O p t i o n s .
  4. Click the Object Recognition Order tab.
  5. From the Object order preferences list, select the name of the file you created.
  6. Change the method order to customize your preferences.
How to define an object class and map an object type to it?
  1. Identify the class name of the window that corresponds to the object. You can use the Spy++ utility in Visual C++ to identify the class name. You can also use the Robot Inspector tool by clicking Tools > Inspector.
  2. In Robot, click Tools < General Options, and then click the Object Mapping tab.
  3. From the Object type list, select the standard object type to be associated with the new object class name. Robot displays the class names already available for that object type in the Object classes list box.
  4. Click Add.
  5. Type the class name you identified in step 1 and click OK.
  6. Click OK.
How to modify or delete a custom class name?
  1. Click Tools > General Options, and then click the Object Mapping tab.
  2. From the Object type list, select the standard object type that is associated with the object class name. Robot displays the class names already available for that object type in the Object classes list.
  3. From the Object classes list, select the name to modify or delete.
  4. Do one of the following:
    . To modify the class name, click Modify. Change the name and click OK.
    . To delete the object class mapping, click Delete. Click OK at the confirmation prompt.
  5. Click OK.
Pausing and Resuming the Recording of a Script
To pause recording:
--Click the Pause button on the GUI Record toolbar. Robot indicates a paused state by:
----Depressing the Pause button.
----Displaying Recording Suspended in the status bar.
----Displaying a check mark next to the Record > Pause command.
To resume recording:
-- Click Pause again.
----Always resume recording with the application-under-test in the same state that it was in when you paused.

Robot has two recording modes
1. Object-Oriented Recording mode
Examines objects in the application-under-test at the Windows layer during recording and playback. Robot uses internal object names to identify objects, instead of using mouse movements or absolute screen coordinates. If objects in your application’s graphical user interface (GUI) change locations, your tests still pass because the scripts are not location dependent. As a result, Object-Oriented Recording insulates the GUI script from minor user interface changes and simplifies GUI script maintenance.
2. Low-level recording mode
Tracks detailed mouse movements and keyboard actions by screen coordinates and exact timing. Use low-level recording when you are testing functionality that requires the tracking of detailed mouse actions, such as in painting, drawing, or CAD applications.

To switch between the two modes during recording, do one of the following:
------Press CTRL+SHIFT+R.
------Click the Open Robot Window button on the GUI Record toolbar (or press CTRL+SHIFT+F) to bring Robot to the foreground. Click Record > Turn Low-Level Recording On/Off.

How to end the recording of a script?
Click the Stop Recording button on the GUI Record toolbar.
How to define script properties?
  1. Do one of the following:
    . If the script is open, click File > Properties.
    . If the script is not open, click File > Open > Script. Select the script and click the Properties button.
  2. In the Script Properties dialog box, define the properties. For detailed information about an item, click the question mark near the upper-right corner of the dialog box, and then click the item.
  3. Click OK.
How to code a script manually?
  1. In Robot, click File > New > Script.
  2. Type a script name (40 characters maximum) and, optionally, a description of the script.
  3. Click GUI.
  4. Click OK. Robot creates an empty script with the following lines:
    Sub Main
    Dim Result As Integer
    'Initially Recorded: 01/17/05 14:55:53
    'Script Name: GUI Script
    End Sub
  5. Begin coding the GUI script.
How to add a new action to an existing script?
  1. If necessary, open the script by clicking File > Open > Script.
  2. If you are currently debugging, click Debug > Stop.
  3. In the Script window, click where you want to insert the new actions. Make sure that the application-under-test is in the appropriate state to begin recording at the text cursor position.
  4. Click the Insert Recording button on the Standard toolbar. The Robot window minimizes by default, or behaves as specified in the GUI Record Options dialog box.
  5. Continue working with the application-under-test as you normally do when recording a script.
How to add a feature to an existing GUI script?
  1. If necessary, open the script by clicking File > Open > Script.
  2. If you are currently debugging, click Debug > Stop.
  3. In the Script window, click where you want to insert the feature. Make sure that the application-under-test is in the appropriate state to insert the feature at the text cursor position.
  4. Do one of the following:
    - To add the feature without going into recording mode, click the Display GUI Insert Toolbar button on the Standard toolbar. The Robot Script window remains open. - To start recording and add the feature, click the Insert Recording button on the Standard toolbar. The Robot window minimizes by default, or behaves as specified in the GUI Record Options dialog box. Click the Display GUI Insert Toolbar button on the GUI Record toolbar.
  5. Click the appropriate button on the GUI Insert toolbar.
  6. Continue adding the feature as usual.
How o batch compile scripts and library source files?
  1. Click File > Batch Compile.
  2. Select an option to filter the type of scripts or files you want to appear in the Available list: GUI scripts, VU scripts, or SQABasic library source files.
  3. Optionally, select List only modules that require compilation to display only those files that have not yet been compiled or that have changed since they were last compiled.
  4. Select one or more files in the Available list and click > or >>. Robot compiles the files in the same order in which they appear in the Selected list.
  5. Click OK to compile the selected files.
How to insert a timer while recording or editing a script?
  1. Do one of the following:
    . If recording, click the Display GUI Insert Toolbar button on the GUI Record toolbar. . If editing, position the pointer in the script and click the Display GUI Insert Toolbar button on the Standard toolbar.
  2. Click the Start Timer button on the GUI Insert toolbar.
  3. Type a timer name (40 characters maximum) and click OK. If you start more than one timer, make sure you give each timer a different name.
  4. Perform the timed activity.
  5. Immediately after performing the timed activity, click the Stop Timer button on the GUI Insert toolbar.
  6. Select a timer name from the list of timers you started and click OK.
Playing Back a Script that Includes Timers
1. Click Tools > GUI Playback Options.
2. In the Playback tab, clear Acknowledge results.
This prevents a pass/fail result message box from appearing for each verification point. You can still view the results in the log after playback.
3. In the Playback tab, set the Delay between commands value to 0. This removes any extra Robot timing delays from the performance measurement. If you need a delay before a single command, click Insert > Delay and type a delay value.
4. Click OK.

How to insert a log message into a script during recording or editing?
1. Do one of the following:
. If recording, click the Display GUI Insert Toolbar button on the GUI Record toolbar.
. If editing, position the pointer in the script and click the Display GUI Insert Toolbar button on the Standard toolbar.
2. Click the Write to Log button on the GUI Insert toolbar.
After playback, you can view logs and messages using TestManager.


How to Choose Network Recording?
  1. Click Tools Tools Tools Tools > Session Record Options Session Record Options Session Record Options Session Record Options.
  2. Click the Method Method Method Method tab, and click Network recording Network recording Network recording Network recording.
  3. Optionally, click the Method:Network Method:Network Method:Network Method:Network tab, and select the client/server pair that you will record. The default is to record all of the network traffic to and from your computer.
  4. Optionally, click the Generator Filtering Generator Filtering Generator Filtering Generator Filtering tab to specify the network protocols to include in the script that Robot generates.
How to Choose Proxy Recording
  1. Click Tools Tools Tools Tools > Session Record Options Session Record Options Session Record Options Session Record Options.
  2. Click the Method Method Method Method tab, and click Proxy Proxy Proxy Proxy recording.
  3. Click the Method:Proxy Method:Proxy Method:Proxy Method:Proxy tab to:
    . Create a proxy computer.
    . Identify client/server pairs that will communicate through the proxy.
How to cancelling a Script in a Single-Script Session?
1. During recording, click the Stop button on the Session Record floating toolbar.
2. In the Stop Recording dialog box, click Ignore just-recorded information.
3. Click OK in the Stop Recording dialog box.
4. Click OK to acknowledge that the session is being deleted.

How to cancelling the Current Script in a Multi-Script Session?
1. During recording, click the Split Script button on the Session Record floating toolbar.
2. In the Split Script dialog box, click Ignore just-recorded information.
3. Click OK.

How to cancelling All Scripts in a Multi-Script Session?
1. During recording, click the Stop button on the Session Record floating toolbar.
2. Click OK in the Stop Recording dialog box.
3. Immediately click Cancel in the Generating Scripts dialog box.

When would you want to split a session?
If quick script development time is a priority - perhaps because testable builds are developed daily, or because web content is updated daily.
How to split a session into multiple scripts?
1. During recording, at the point where you want to end one script and begin a new one, click the Split Script button on the Session Record floating toolbar.
2. Enter a name for the script that you are ending, or accept the default name.
3. Click OK.
4. Repeat the previous steps as many times as needed to end one script and begin another. 5. After you click the Stop Recording button to end the recording session, type or select a name for the last script you recorded, or accept the default name.

How to import a session file and regenerate scripts?
You can import a session from a different computer into your current project.
  1. In Robot, click Tools > Import Session. The Open dialog box appears.
  2. Click the session file, then click Open. The session and its scripts are now in your project.
  3. To regenerate the scripts in the session you imported, click Tools > Regenerate Test Scripts from Session, and select the session you imported.
  4. To regenerate the suite, click Tools > Rational Suite TestStudio > Rational TestManager.
  5. Click File > New Suite. The New Suite dialog box appears.
  6. Select Existing Session, and click OK.
  7. TestManager displays a list of sessions that are in the project. Click the name of the session that you imported, and click OK.
How to regenerate Scripts from a Session?
1. In Robot, click Tools > Regenerate Test Scripts from Session.
2. Click the name of the session to use.
3. Click OK to acknowledge that the regeneration operation is complete.

How to Define Script Properties in Robot?
1. Click File > Open > Test Script to open the Open Test Script dialog box.
2. Click the script you are defining properties for.
3. Click Properties.
4. Define the script’s properties, and click OK. 

More in QTP


 

QuickTest Window / Key Elements of QTP


1)    Test Pane
2)    Active Screen
3)    Data Table
4)    Debug viewer
5)    Information pane
6)    Missing Resources pane
7)    QTP commands

 

III) Object Repository

1)  Software objects
2)  Types of object in QTP
a)    Runtime Objects
b)    Test Objects
c)    Utility Objects
d)    Automation Objects
3)  Object Repository
a)    Local Repository
b)    Shared Repository
4)  Operations on Object Repository
a)    Adding Objects
b)    Renaming Objects
c)    Deleting Objects
d)    Associating Object Repositories to an Action
e)    Exporting Local Objects
f)    Merging Repositories
g)    View Options
h)    Spying Objects
i)     Importing and Exporting Repositories using XML

 

IV) QTP Testing Process

1)  Planning
a)    Analyzing the AUT
b)    Implementing Automation Framework
c)    Creating/Selecting Test cases
d)    Collecting Test Data
e)   Object Identification Configuration
                               i.        Normal Identification
1.    Mandatory Properties
2.    Assertive Properties
                              ii.        Smart Identification
1.    Base filter Properties
2.    Option filter properties
                             iii.        Ordinal Identifier
                             iv.        Making Tool Settings Global
2)  Generating the basic Test
a)   Recording
                              i.        Normal Recording
                             ii.        Analog Recording
                            iii.        Low Level Recording
                           iv.        Record and Run Settings
b)    Keyword driven methodology/Shared object repository method/Preparing the script manually
c)    Descriptive programming/Programmatic Descriptions
                              i.        Entering Programmatic Descriptions Directly into Statements
                             ii.        Using Description Objects for Programmatic Descriptions
                            iii.        Retrieving Child Objects
                           iv.        Using the Index Property in Programmatic Descriptions

                            v.        Creating Checkpoints Programmatically

3)   Enhancing the Test
a)   Inserting Check points
                              i.        Standard Checkpoint
                             ii.        Text Checkpoint
                            iii.        Text Area Checkpoint
                           iv.        Bitmap Checkpoint
                            v.        Database Checkpoint
                           vi.        Accessibility Checkpoint
                          vii.        XML Checkpoint (From Application)
                         viii.        XML Checkpoint (From Resource)
                           ix.        Page Checkpoint
                            x.        Image Checkpoint
                           xi.        Table Checkpoint
b)   Inserting Output values
                              i.        Standard Output value
                             ii.        Text Output value
                            iii.        Text Area Output value
                           iv.        Database Output value
                            v.        XML Output value (From Resource)
c)   Adding Comments
d)   Synchronization
                              i.        Inserting Wait Statement
                             ii.        Inserting Synchronization Point
                            iii.        Increasing Tool Default Synchronization Time
                           iv.        Sync method (only for web)
                            v.        Selecting appropriate method 
e)   Parameterization
                              i.        Data Driven Testing through Loop statements
                             ii.        Dynamic Test Data Submission through Looping
                            iii.        Data Driven Testing through Data Table
                           iv.        Importing Test Data from External files
                            v.        Creating a Database, Tables and Entering Data
                           vi.        Creating DSN
                          vii.        Importing Test Data from Databases
f)    Inserting Programmatic statements
                               i.        Inserting Conditional Statements
                              ii.        Inserting Loop statements
                             iii.        Using VB Script Built-in Functions
g)    Generating steps through Step Generator
h)   Inserting Transaction points
                              i.        Start Transaction
                             ii.        End Transaction
i)     Enhancing Tests with the windows API
4)  Debugging the Test
a)   Debug Commands
                              i.        Step Into
                             ii.        Step Over
                            iii.        Step Out
b)    Inserting/Removing Brake Points
c)    Watching variables
d)    Changing Variable values
5)  Running the Test
a)    Normal execution
b)   Test Batch execution
                              i.        Test batch formation
                             ii.        Batch execution
                            iii.        Partial Batch execution
6)  Analyzing the Test Results
a)    Test Result Viewer
b)    Analyzing Test Results
c)    Exporting Test Results
d)    Test Results Deletion
7)  Reporting Defects
a)    Manual Defect Reporting
b)    Tool based Defect Reporting
c)    Integration with Quality Center

 

V) QTP Advanced Features

1)  Regular expressions
2)  Environment Variables
a)    Built-in Variables
b)    User Defined Variables
c)    Defining, modifying and associating environment variables
3)  Methods
a)    QTP Methods
b)    VB Script Methods
4)  Actions
a)    Types of actions
                              i.        Non-reusable Actions
                             ii.        Re-Usable actions
                            iii.        External Actions
b)    Creating an Action
c)    Splitting Actions
d)    Renaming an Action
e)    Deleting an Action
f)    Making an Reusable/Non-Reusable
g)    Calling an existing Action
h)    Copying an Actions
i)     Action Parameters
5)  Functions
a)    Preparing Procedures
b)    Associating Procedures to QTP tests
c)    Modifying Procedures
d)    Calling Procedures
6)  Dynamic Handling of Object Repositories
a)    Loading Repositories directly through Utility Object
b)    Finding Repository Position
c)    Removing Repositories
7)  Data Driven Testing through Scripting
a)    Importing Data from Flat files
b)    Importing Data from spread sheets
c)    Importing Data from Databases
                              i.        Ms Access
                             ii.        SQL Server
                            iii.        Oracle
8)  File System Operations
a)    File system Object
b)    Creating Files
c)    Reading Data
d)    Writing Data
e)    Creating Folders
f)    Creating Drives
9)  Recovery Scenarios
a)   Trigger events
                              i.        Pop-Up window
                             ii.        Object State
                            iii.        Test Run Error
                           iv.        Application Crash
b)   Recovery Operations
                          i.    Keyboard or Mouse Operation
                         ii.    Close Application Process
                        iii.    Function Call
                       iv.    Restart Microsoft Windows
c)    Creating Recovery Scenarios
d)    Associating Recovery Scenarios
10)              Virtual Object Configuration
a)    Virtual Object Manager
b)    Defining a Virtual Object

c)    Removing or Disabling Virtual Object Definitions

11)              Test Automation Frameworks
a)    Automation Framework
b)    Record & Playback or Linear Framework
c)    Modular Driven framework
d)    Keyword Driven framework
e)    Hybrid driven Framework
12)              Automation Object Model

 

VI) VB Script for QTP

1) Introduction
a)    Introducing VB Script
b)    Windows Script Host (WSH)
c)    Crating a script with Note pad
d)    Hosting Environments & Script engines
e)    Available Script engines
2) Comments
a)    Purpose of Comments
b)    Syntax
c)    Comment/Uncomment a block of statements
3) VB Script Variables
a)    Declaring Variables
b)    Option Explicit Statement
c)    Naming restrictions for Variables
d)    Scope of Variables
e)    Life time of Variables
f)    Assigning values to Variables
g)    Scalar Variables and Array Variables
h)    Dimensional Arrays
i)     Dynamic Arrays
4) VB Script Data Types
a)    Variant Sub types
5) VB Script Operators
a)    Operator precedence
b)    Arithmetic Operators
c)    Comparison Operators
d)    Concatenation Operators
e)    Logical Operators
6) Input/Output Operations
a)    Inputbox Function
b)    Msgbox Function
7) Constants
a)    Creating Constants
b)    Using Constants
c)    Modifying Constants
8)  Conditional Statements
a)    If…Then…Else Statement
b)    Select Case Statement
c)    Making Decisions Using If...Then...Else
d)    Running a Statement if a Condition is True (single statement)
e)    Running Statements if a Condition is True (multiple statements)
f)    Running Certain Statements if a Condition is True and Running Others if a Condition is False
g)    Deciding Between Several Alternatives
h)    Executing a certain block of statements when two / more conditions are True (Nested If...)
i)     Making Decisions with Select Case
j)     Other Examples
9)  Looping Through Code
a)    Loop statements
b)    Do Loops
c)    While…wend statement
d)    For…Next statement
e)    For Each…Next statement
10)              Other Statements
11)              Procedures
a)    Sub Procedures
b)    Function Procedures
c)    Getting Data into and out of procedures
d)    Using Sub and Function procedures in code
12)              VB Script Built-in Functions
a)    Conversions
b)    Dates/Times
c)    Formatting Strings
d)    Input/Output
e)    Math
f)    Miscellaneous
g)    Rounding
h)    Strings
i)     Variants
13)              Methods
14)              Objects
a)    ADODB connection
b)    Dictionary
c)    Excel Application
d)    File system Object
e)    Network
f)    Shell
g)    Word Application
h)    XML Document
15)              Classes
16)              Keywords
17)              Errors
a)    VB Script Runtime Errors
b)    VB script Syntax Errors
18)              VBScript syntax rules and guidelines